The Old Manse of Melness, coastal walks and beaches, Scotland

Melness, United Kingdom
  • 2
  • 3


Home & pet owner

Know someone who’d love this sit?

Share this listing

Know someone who’d love this sit?

Share this listing


We have 2 dogs, Charlie who is a 3yr old golden retriever and Shadow who is a Collie/Springer cross who is 13yrs old. We also have 3 ponies, 2 Highlands and one Shetland, along with 6 chickens We would like to find a house sitter for the

Home & location

We have 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 3 toilets, 2 reception rooms, conservatory and kitchen. We are set back from the village of Melness amongst trees next to a burn. Melness has 1 local shop/post office but the nearest large town is Thurso

  • House
  • Basic WiFi
  • Beach
  • Mountains
  • Countryside
  • Sitters need a car


We would need a sitter to feed both dogs twice a day and walk the younger dog Charlie only as Shadow has arthritis! We would also need the sitter to feed the ponies and take the bin to end of driveway on a Friday and retrieve post from our

Meet the pets

  • Charlie

    Labrador Retriever

    3 years

  • Shadow


    13 years

  • Angus

    Highland Pony

    26 years

  • Nevis

    Shetland Pony

    6 years

  • Dochas

    Highland Pony

    8 years

  • poultry

Sitter feedback (2)


What a pleasure it was to look after Dave and Carol's beautiful home and gorgeous dogs and ponies. They were so warm, generous and welcoming and Charlie and

Stayed · 09 Jan - 19 Jan 2020

Dave and carol are great hosts, they made us feel really welcome and comfortable in their lovely home. They left us with clear instructions for all the

Stayed · 03 Oct - 07 Oct 2019

Location map